Quinoa a.k.a. “that Circle Stuff”

I want some more of that circle stuff.”

Huh? It took me a while to figure out what she was talking about…and then it took me a while longer to figure out why my four year old actually liked “that circle stuff.” I immediately consulted my husband, who concurred that the circle stuff was good. I had been indifferent, but if everyone else liked it, I was on board. And that’s how we jumped on the quinoa bandwagon.

I know, I’m about four years late on the whole quinoa food trend, but now that we’ve actually tried it, I get it!

  • It’s so easy to make. Seriously, you can’t screw it up. (And this comes from someone who, at one point in her life, couldn’t make instant rice.)
  • It’s a great break from our standard rice or potato rut. Quinoa’s texture and earthy, nutty flavor complements most main-courses, and isn’t too shabby as a leftover.
  • It’s healthy. Quinoa is high in protein and fiber, but has zero sodium.

…but my personal favorite part about quinoa is re-heating it for breakfast. It’s basically a blank slate, ready to be meshed with whatever flavors you like, and makes for a hearty start to the day.

quinoa

Breakfast Quinoa & Apples

1 apple, diced
1 teaspoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup prepared (leftover) quinoa

Sauté the apples, butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon in a small skillet over medium heat. Cook until apples reach your desired level of tenderness (I like mine a little crunchy). Stir in quinoa, cook until heated through.

I have also added dried cranberries and nuts to this dish…it’s fun to mix and match whatever I’ve got in the fridge and cupboards on any given weekend.

Leave a Reply

